The nine Kingston Wards are outlined in the map below in green, and each Ward has three Election Districts. Each Election District has a polling place which is where all residents in that Election District may vote in each election. Each Ward is represented by one Alderman, a member of the Common Council.

Kingston also has three Legislative Districts in the Ulster County Legislature (District Five, Six and Seven) which are each outlined in the map below in yellow.